Danmarks Fotomuseum

Standard

(Denmark’s Photography Museum)

I work in a camera shop in Denmark, I started working there almost five years ago now, and I usually do a shift or two when I visit my parents during the summer and at Christmas, as I really enjoy working there. I also created their website and still manage in when it needs updating.

My boss has been in the business for more that 40 years and is an eager photographer himself, although mostly as a hobby. He is a collector of old cameras and I think he has a couple of hundreds now, a lot of which are on display in the shop. He is also engaged in Denmark’s Photography Museum, where they are exhibiting old cameras, photography equipment and other photography related elements. They also have photography exhibitions and the current exhibition is the winners of this year’s Danish photojournalism awards. Unfortunately this exhibition finishes before I will get a chance to see it, however, there will be another exhibition after this one, one I am a lot more interested in. It is

The museum also has a gallery with photography exhibitions, and the current exhibition is with the winners of this year’s Danish Photojournalism Awards. Unfortunately this exhibition finishes before I will get a chance to see it, however, there will be another exhibition after this one, one I am a lot more interested in. It is by a famous Danish landscape photographer called Kirsten Klein and the exhibition is called Øjeblikke (Moments). This exhibition runs until Christmas and I am very much looking forward to visiting it.

Her landscapes are in black and white and are always quite dramatic looking. This is an example of Klein’s work:

Klein is from the from the same part of the country as me, and has illustrated several books with her photographs and has multiple exhibitions as well. She mostly works is Denmark but has also done a few project abroad, however, her style remains the same.

Unfortunately, this exhibition will be the last one the museum hosts, as the council has cut their funding for the museum and they are forced to close down.


Another exhibition I would love to visit is the Copenhagen Photo Festival, but this year it happens to be at the same time as our Degree Show, so I am going to have to wait until next year.

I have found an association in Denmark for photographers which I will be joining when I finish my course. It looks like it is almost an equivalent to Redeye, it is called Selskabet For Dansk Fotografi (SDF) (The Association for Danish Photography). It is a national association with lots of benefits for the members, and by becoming a member of SDF you also automatically become a member of Fédération Internationale de l’Art Photographique (FIAP) which is a worldwide photography organisation. SDF also publish a photography magazine four times a year and have meetings and competitions for their members to participate in. There is also a nordic association I can look into joining.

I love being part of the photography world and going to see exhibitions, and I am going to have to keep up to speed with what is going on, probably through all the newsletters from organisations like Redeye, LensCulture, Magnum, Photoworks and SDF. As I won’t be a student anymore I will have to seek out inspiration and guidance from these places as I won’t have lecturers to rely on any longer, so these networks and organisations will now be more important than before.


http://fotomuseum.dk/?lang=en

http://copenhagenphotofestival.com/en/

http://foto-matic.dk/ (The camera shop where I work)

Leave a Reply

