Final CRIT

Standard

On Friday we had our final CRIT of the semester and the final CRIT of our education at the University of Cumbria.

It was our last chance to get feedback from the lecturer on our Final Major Projects and therefore a very important session.

I had printed out 4 sets of diptychs and two contact sheets with most of my edited photographs on.

As I cannot submit my exhibition layout in the portfolio I have decided to hand in diptychs portraying the good and bad sides of being a highly sensitive person which my project is all about, and diptychs are also a good way of showing that.

It seems to be a returning subject for me to work with the good and the bad sides of things. I like to try to separate the two. Last semester my main project was based on the picturesque and the sublime, whether they could work individually and how they work together. I also did a previous project on the rubbish that is being thrown carelessly on the ground in the Lake District National Park. This was also about taking the bad away from the good, but in a different way. For this project I ended up with double exposures instead of diptychs though.

My CRIT went well and I got some good feedback to be able to finalise my project over the next couple of weeks before handing in my portfolio and then starting to print my photographs for the exhibition. With my contact sheets I, was able to see how my photographs work together put on the wall, and I was quite pleased with how they look. They are colouful, intriguing and works well together. I am considering printing out contact sheets to put in my portfolio as well, I may even try to arrange the photos as I would like to mount them on the wall.

The way I am going to display my work is going to be something close to this:

I like the way the photographs have a sense of continuity and look fluent but still a bit confusing. After the feedback I got from the CRIT I am now planning on having two mp3 players along with my work, one with overwhelming noises and one with pleasant sounds, again the good vs. the bad. I will have room to place the two next to each other as they won’t take up much space. I also realised that the best way of hanging my work will be using pins, even though the photos will be printed full bleed I think that is the best and safest solution.

I am also going to have either one or two spotlights pointed at my work from the ceiling. As I am hoping to make the viewers slightly overwhelmed the light will contribute to that, as the paper I am working with is very reflective, and the viewers may have to move around a bit to be able to see all the photographs due to the glare from the lights.

I have a few more shoots planned over the easter holiday, but I am definitely starting to feel like I am getting there, and I can’t wait to see my work finally on the wall in less than two months.

Leave a Reply

