Exhibition Planning

Standard

Yesterday I received a box of the paper that I am planning on printing my work on for the Degree Show. I am very excited, it is even better than I thought it would be, now I just need to test it out.

I am also getting closer to putting together a markup of how I want my work exhibited. I am taking inspiration from photographers like Wolfgang Tillman and Rinko Kawauchi.

Kawauchi’s installations:

 

Tillmann’s installation:

I like the organised mess on the wall. The structure of the installations that looks professional yet unorganised enough to be intriguing. I am also very drawn to Kawauchi’s use of colours in the first photo, and that is something I would like to replicate in my exhibition.

I am wanting to show my work in a corner, as it will give it a three-dimensional feel, and the viewer can get almost emerged in the work. However, I need to be careful that it doesn’t end op being too heavy and messy to look at. This is why I have chosen some very glossy photo paper that will create a shine if I can get a spotlight pointed at it during the show. This will hopefully brighten up my installation.

I would really like to create an installation that will resemble a stained-glass window of a church. Stained-glass dates back to the 7th century and is a form of art in itself. My family and I have visited churches everywhere we went since I was a child and I always found all the artwork the most fascinating, especially the colourful windows with pictures in them was intriguing for me as a little girl. The church windows usually tell a story, an illustrated story usually taken from the Bible. The artwork in churches, including the stained-glass windows has always been a way to display spiritual or religious preciousness, a way of illustrating one’s belief. Displaying art in churches was one of the first forms of exhibition, and with art also being displayed in palaces it was a sign of wealth, power and knowledge. Later art became more of an attraction and art exhibition was found in places like the circus and marketplaces and the most expensive in private precious exhibitions. Today people associate exhibitions with museums and galleries; paintings and photographs hanging on white polished walls and objects displayed behind a protective layer of glass. I would like to combine the contemporary and the old ways by using the white walls in our studios and also using the visual inspiration from the stained-glass church windows to make my work come together and create a visible experience for the viewers.

I know from photographing artwork at a Danish church that there are certain artists that are known for creating religious art that is then displayed in different churches. It is a different and interesting form of exhibition, but regardless of the settings you are still exhibiting your art. My project is not religious, but if I can make my viewers looked at my work with the same fascination and awe as I looked at those stained-glass church windows as a child it will make me very happy.


The paper I am using is from a brand called Sihl Masterclass. It is not a brand I have come across before, but so far I am very impressed with the quality of the paper, and it has almost exactly the look I am looking for, and I am hoping it will make the colours of my photographs stand out beautifully on the wall.


https://sihlmasterclass.com/product/metallic-pearl-high-gloss-photo-paper-290/

Booklet with the church art I have photographed

 

Leave a Reply

